• Home
  • American Citizen Abroad Global Foundation (ACAGF) Webcast: Taxation of Americans Abroad - Legislative Changes Brewing in Congress

American Citizen Abroad Global Foundation (ACAGF) Webcast: Taxation of Americans Abroad - Legislative Changes Brewing in Congress

  • June 18, 2019
  • 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM (PDT)
  • Online Event

Taxation of Americans Abroad: Legislative Changes Brewing in Congress

 

With this event, American Citizen Abroad Global Foundation (ACAGF) continues its series of Webcasts on the recently introduced legislation, The Tax Fairness for Americans Abroad Act (H.R.7358) (TFAA).


TFAA was introduced in December 2018 by Representative George Holding (R-NC). The bill changes existing citizenship-based taxation rules (CBT), in US tax law, to residency-based taxation (RBT). RBT is sometimes referred to as territorial taxation.


The ACAGF Webcasts serve to provide more information on the bill to the community and other interested parties. In attendance will be Matt Stross, Tax Counsel, Office of Representative George Holding. Matt Stross is highly familiar with this proposal. Others at House Ways and Means Committee, Joint Committee on Taxation and House Legislative Counsel's Office also have provided valuable assistance. Mr. Stross will describe -- 

  • the provisions of TFAA,

  • where it stands, and

  • what’s next.

Mr. Stross will answer questions, as time permits.


The presenters are: Max Reed, tax lawyer - SKL Tax, Benita Loughlin, Partner, KPMG, Vancouver, and Terry Ritchie, cross-border financial planner, Cardinal Point Wealth Management. They will discuss how this potential change in US law will affect individual filing requirements and investment strategies. Joining them will be Marylouise Serrato - ACA Executive Director, and Charles Bruce - ACAGF Chairman and ACA Legal Counsel.


Times for the Event:
11:00 AM Pacific Daylight Time
2:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time
7:00 PM British Summer Time (UK)
8:00 PM Central European Summer Time
10:00 PM Eastern European Summer Time

More Webcasts to be added in the coming months. Watch this space!


This program is presented by American Citizens Abroad Global Foundation, which is a qualified 501(c)(3) tax exempt public charity. ACAGF does not provide tax or investment advice.  

The content of the program, including documents and presentations, is made available solely for general informational purposes. The content is not intended and should not be treated as legal or tax advice.


ACAGF does not warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any content or other information. ACAGF disclaims all liability and responsibility arising from any reliance placed on any content or information by you or any other person.

© 2019 American Citizens Abroad Global Foundation. All rights reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software